jump to navigation

About Free Software and Sponsorship June 29, 2014

Posted by tumaix in planetkde-tomazcanabrava.
trackback

I’v been into this world of Free Software for longer than I could ever do anything else.  Started back in 1998 by looking, installing and destroying my computer so many times that I had to have learned something by now. By 2004 I really started doing something besides using computers, well, actually from 2000 since I started studing a bit of programming to help on an ancient multiplayer massive online role play game…

In 2008 I joined the KDE Community devoting much of my free time, my paid time, my girlfriend time, gathered friends to help, did hacking sessions, translation sprints, spend in one year more than 3k euro to help free software – And here in brazil 3k euro is what one gain in 9 months of work, so it wasn’t really easy for me to just give away that cash

But I did for just one reason: I Belive trully in the work that we do, I belive trully that kde edu help the education of children and adults around the world and what the hell, we are the one big educational project, there’s no other big project on education like kde edu.

As there’s no other project like Krita, that took some time to be a good application but nowdays it’s an awesome tool, so let’s try and help a bit. The kickstarter will end in 10 days and only 1.500 euro are missing for the goal, it’s not that much but it can speed a lot the development.

 

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment