jump to navigation

KDE Minas Gerais September 30, 2009

Posted by tumaix in planetkde-tomazcanabrava.
trackback

I’v just been into Belo Horizonte, Minas Gerais in Brazil ( well, It’s where I live, há. ) To promote KDE in it’s most recent installfest for 4.3. Was a very pleasant stay, I met the local Gnommies, and kdeis ( that’s one thing that gnome has better than KDE, the name of people that uses it. Gnommies rulez, but how do call people that uses KDE in a cool way? o.O )

well, I stayed in Amanda’s house. ( Amanda is a kind of Brazilian blauzahl, likes to coordinate things. ) and I ate lots and lots of local goodies. nham.

The event was a really nice surprise, since it was their first event, I didn’t expect anything much fancy, but actually it was crowed with people, with very nice talks about KDE Edu, Educational Apps for kids with inabilities, OpenStreetMap). I also gave a talk, with Amanda’s cousin, about How to improve your coding skills by helping an opensource project.

Pictures later, I Still don’t have them, waiting for a Amanda to send me ;D

Comments»

1. Luis - September 30, 2009

> Gnommies rulez, but how do call people that uses KDE in a cool way?

Have you tried KaDiEs? I still use kde-eiros, in good Polrtuguese but it’s no good for english speaking people.

2. Milian Wolff - September 30, 2009

use the name gearheads😉

3. Mickaël Sibelle - September 30, 2009

HI !

For KDE users I think “KDoErs” is nice🙂

4. randomguy3 - September 30, 2009

KDE peeps are GearHeads🙂

5. uniq_user - September 30, 2009

I believe the correct way to call out a KDE people is QTies ( pronounced cuties).

6. Matija "hook" Šuklje - September 30, 2009

I just wanted to mention GearHeads as well, but randomguy3 beat me to it😉

In case you wonder why …the gear is something like a mascot for KDE (Konqi is younger I think) and can be often seen in (older) icons etc.

7. Amanda Oliveira Castro (amandacsi) 's status on Wednesday, 30-Sep-09 16:55:13 UTC - Identi.ca - September 30, 2009
8. Djavan Fagundes - September 30, 2009

Hi Tomaz,

GNOME Users == GNOMErs != Gnommies =)
You’re welcome in BH!
Cheers

9. Tulio Magno - September 30, 2009

Hello Tomaz,

Here you have some photos:

DSCF2036
10. Svein - October 1, 2009

Would love to get in touch with this guy. I am a Norwegian living in Minas Gerais🙂

11. Lamarque V. Souza - October 1, 2009

Svein, which city do you live in? Most of us live in Belo Horizonte (BH), I am an exception, I live in Divinópolis (120Km far from BH). You can reach us through http://listas.kde-mg.org/listinfo.cgi/geral-kde-mg.org and http://www.freelists.org/list/gula_bh (this one includes people from kde-mg and Gnomies from Ubuntu Uai).

12. syaiful - November 18, 2009

salam kenal


Leave a Reply

