jump to navigation

The day after Windows 7 installation. June 9, 2009

Posted by tumaix in planetkde-tomazcanabrava.
trackback

Since everybody appeared to stay that I’m a moron for not having recovery tools ready, and that I’m a moron for not knowing how to recupere a merged 60gb ntfs partition with a 120gb ext3 partition ( that, by the way, I didn’t asked for the windows installer to merge ), only one thing to say: What a great and helpful community.

1 – windows is used as ‘even my grandma can use.’ – well, my mother doesn’t know how to recover data too. , so, let’s stop this fight, okay?

today I was trying to install linux again, and hopefully dont lose the win7 partition, it was a pain to make everything work as I expect it.

downloaded:
Mandriva 2009.1 free x64 dvd
Fedora 11 x64 KDE live
Arch Linux netinstall

Installed mandriva, the instalation worked beautifully. everything was being installed and the world was a pure and happy place.
installation done.
boot on mandriva, ok, good, KDM login. so I put my username and password, kde starts the splashscreen and I go take a shower, because I’m stinky.
when I’m back, it’s still on the splashscreen. I press ‘numlock’ to see if the computer is frozen, it is. rebooted, same result. tried to go on the ‘failsafe’ just to discover that the failsafe is failing. cant boot.

then I log onto windows, go to irc mandriva channel, explain my problem. another dude sayd that he had the same one and it was caused by some usb periferics. since my mouse and keyboard are usb, could be that. one other guy asked me to use runlevel 3, I try. still freezing and no sign of anything onscreen ( no bash or whatsoever ).

finally I got tired of trying, and burned the Fedora 11 live cd.
verified to see if it was correctely burned, it was, put it into the dvd drive, and rebooted the pc. it let me choose a few things, boot from cd, boot from first hard drive and such, I booted from CD, obviously. I/O ERROR Framebuffer something.
thinking that it could be the CD’s fault ( It was all messed up, with scrathes ) I bought a new one, and tried again.
same result.

then I installed Arch. worked. nothing bad happened. I thank you, Arch Developers, but it’s just too much configuration for mee. I’m now on windows again, trying to download Chakra ( Arch based ) and install to see if it will work, if not, I will go back to ubuntu.

Still a little bit frustrated for losing my songs and stuff, but that’s life, I could waited and used some tool to recover my things, but I was in a hurry to finish a university thing…

Comments»

1. hallowname - June 9, 2009

chakra is arch with some things preinstalled. you can add them yourself to an arch installation. a full arch/kde_trunk setup takes around 12 hours on a fast connection.

its better to configure it yourself once, than have an autoconfigure tool (drakconf, yast2, aticonfig, etc.) mess it up repeatedly. and it isnt that much really. just seems scary at first. hwd does most of the work. :P

arch rules. because you made it.
windows sucks. because they made it.

best windows ever tho :D

2. Javi - June 9, 2009

Well look it on the bright side: from now on I bet you will make backups more often ;-)

tumaix - June 9, 2009

yah. o.o
using an old 80gb hd for that now.

3. Tagtick - June 9, 2009

I think you should stick up on Arch, you will learn a LOT of things from it, and it is way more stable than many … stable distros out there.

4. Lukas - June 9, 2009

Glad you’ll try Chakra :) Bug us in #chakra or #chakra-devel if anything goes wrong…

Lukas

5. JavierBere - June 9, 2009

If arch worked then Chakra should. Chakra is nothing but a default Arch install with KDEMod packages installed by default.

tumaix - June 9, 2009

yeah, I read that.
but my connection is 1mb, to have a iso with most packages on it is a great help.

6. Ernest N. WIlcox Jr. - June 9, 2009

If you get a live CD (perhaps PuppyLinux), boot from it, then install testdisk from the software manager, you may be able to recover any lost partitions / files and put things back as they were. Note, however that since you have written to the disk, your chances of a full recovery are diminished.

HTH,

7. Dave Taylor - June 9, 2009

Just interested, most people would try Kubuntu first how come you didn’t take the popular distribution?

tumaix - June 10, 2009

I usually install a distro without kde, themn compile kde from trunk. =)

8. narendra - June 9, 2009

IMHO..archlinux is worth the effort…especially if you want control and want to know whats going in..
Gentoo too offers control, but its too much for my taste…arch hits the sweet spot..with arch over a period of time, your system becomes an ideal distro for you.. since its you who built it… :)

9. Caesar Tjalbo - June 9, 2009

Now that you’ve discovered the importance of backups, do yourself a favor and don’t treat it as nuisance but put it at the front of your computing. Installing an OS is simple compared to recreating your data.

A good backup strategy is to use 2 external harddisks similar to the one that holds your data. Use one for incremental backups and swap it occasionally with the other, say every month or so. The second backup harddisk should be kept in a different location in case of fire or burglary.

guest - June 10, 2009

youre paranoic :D

tumaix - June 10, 2009

just a bit. =D

Caesar Tjalbo - June 12, 2009

Like too many other people, I too discovered the value of backups the hard way. ;)

If you think there’s merit in backing up your work, settings, installation, downloads and what not, “an old 80gb hd” isn’t going to be an adequate solution.

Having a backup is simply saying that you _will_ need it at some point, just hoping that you’re wrong. Like an insurance. Being able to rely on it means that the quality of the backup and the equipment need to be as good as or better than the original. And a good backup strategy is also conveniently applied without too much thinking, easy to be done routinely, so that the continous backing up doesn’t interfere with the normal workflow.

10. Rasi - June 9, 2009

honestly, a arch install is not that hard, install base system, pacman -S xorg kde, add kdm and hal to daemons list, reboot

11. I LOL'D so much - June 9, 2009

You has a problem with a Release Candidate version of Windows 7. But it seems that you have more problems with 3 “stable” distros (the complexity of Arch is an usability problem too).

Return to Ubuntu. Is not the best distro but is the best user friendly distro ever made.

12. kakalto - June 9, 2009

Ah, you live and you learn :-)

I must admit, whenever installing windows, I physically unplug all other drives and I install it on a seperate drive – I simply don’t trust it to do what I want. Linux, on the other hand, has gained my trust starting from the early distros that allowed resizing partitions.

Good luck on restoring your lost data (whether from the hard-drive or re-creating), and I hope you find a linux distro to your taste :-)

13. The day after Windows 7 installation. « Live Blue :Computing Guy - June 9, 2009

[...] Excerpt from: The day after Windows 7 installation. « Live Blue [...]

14. Diego - June 10, 2009
15. jos - June 10, 2009

I’m on arch too since a month or 2. A lot of bugs and anoyances I had on other distro (last ones: kubuntu, opensuse) are now gone. It seems faster too :)

I also did use chacra to do my setup. Warning: the installer I used was alfa2 I guess, and had a lot of flicker/repainting during the install (intel graphics, dell latitude d830). Apart from the visual flickering it worked like a charm though.

I did not have a lot of hand-editing to do, most things work out of the box. (I had to do dual-screen, and changed smth to have wicd manage my wired and wireless networks automatically)
With chacra comes ‘shaman’ a graphical frontend to the package manager. It is all too easy….

I ‘m very happy with my fast arch installation, and it updates without problem so far!

16. alexinfurs - June 10, 2009

Why you haven’t used a diskpart or another tool to repair your partition and save your data?? I think windows has broken your partition table but the data were still in your disk.. not now, of course.
Bye

17. Dread Knight - June 10, 2009

Chakra is interesting, I’m looking forward to it.
Archlinux is cool, but it’s for geeks, I don’t want that kind of stuff, but rolling release might seen interesting, but they roll out untested shit for sure like any other distro release, sooner, but perhaps the issues get fixed sooner too.

But in the last 24 hours I tried installing linux ditros about 10 times at least and I bumped into issues or other inconveniences with each.

The same fedora you tried messed up my pc badly, I even tried more versions of it as well.

Now I’m using livecd and external hdd + old pc to backup my data and migrate to windows xp on my tablet pc, because I’m done with trying to run windows.

Fuck Intel for that, because it’s where it all started… I have intel GMA 950 on my tablet pc’s … and most distros include the fucking useless drivers that are a major regression. I’m sick of linux… no bluetooth headset, no 3d acceleration, no proper tablet pc features…. maybe I’ll install in again on this machine in a few years, when it grows the fuck up, because now it’s really pissing me off since it’s so counter productive… not to mention the lots of issues I have as a gamer, not only using wine, but with native games as well.

18. Jon Nordby - June 10, 2009

I’d recommend Arch to all devs or people that otherwise needs or wants to change software components often. I promise you, PKGBUILDs (and AUR) will make your day on serveral occations. It makes it insanely simple to build packages be it from official repos, git, svn or whatnot.
Initial configuration is only a one time thing, as you never need to reinstall Arch.

But its not for people that doesnt want to fiddle with their systems.

19. bla - June 10, 2009

Big Arch-fan myself. I normally use Arch+Xfce but I also tried a lot of other distributions with KDE4 and now Chakra is on my laptop – It’s really the only enjoyable KDE4-experience I had so far.

Only thing you really need to take care of in Archlinux is regular updating. I have a lonely old spare-PC that is regularly untouched for half a year or longer. Had to reinstall Archlinux several times, because updates weren’t possible any more…

20. Chris - June 10, 2009

Try openSUSE!

21. FACORAT Fabrice - June 10, 2009

Do you have an Intel video card ? If yes, you should this read this : http://wiki.mandriva.com/en/2009.1_Errata#Possible_display_freezes_with_Intel_graphics_cards

22. etienne - June 12, 2009

maybe time to try ubuntu ? that why so many people use it: it just works

23. panos - June 24, 2009

Take my advice and stick with Archlinux. You won’t regret it. I used to be an Ubuntu fan (and I still think it is a great distro), until I found out about arch. When I learnt about it, I did several installations in at least 3 different machines to test things out. Everything worked flawlessly every time.
I have arch 64bit installed on my main laptop, and everything is better than ever. Fantastic battery life, incredible fast, very stable, bleeding-edge software. I upgrade the system every day and nothing breaks because the devs do a fantastic job. If there is a problem with a package, this is mentioned in arch’s first page, along with the solution.
Also, arch was the distro that made me switch from Gnome to KDE4. I tried Kubuntu, Madriva, OpenSuse. All had their problems. On the other hand, the plain vanilla KDE installation in Arch was very smooth and much more stable.
IMHO, the time you spend in installing and configuring arch is not much and it’s worth it (the 12 hours mentioned is way too long, it usually takes 3-4 hours to have a complete system, following the excellent begginer’s guide in arch’s site).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

