jump to navigation

Back from Finland & New Plasmoid in Playground July 14, 2010

Posted by tumaix in planetkde-tomazcanabrava.
trackback

I’m back after spending lovely 10 days at finland, eating salmiakki and other local goodies. I didn’t felt quite ease at akademy for one reason: I wasn’t programming for KDE as I liked to, because of some real life issues like a non – related KDE job. So, the first thing that I did when I came back? a small plasmoid just to get my dirty hands on kde – coding again.

it’s a Time Tracking plasmoid named TaimeTraquer, based on the Gtk application gtimelog, it doesn’t have all functionalities yet, but the code is in playground/base/plasma/applets/taimetraquer, for anyone that wants to play with it and improve.

Comments»

1. baxeico - July 14, 2010

Nice applet! I think that it would be a good idea to implement a runner in KRunner with the same purpose of the textedit in the applet.

Think abount typing: ALT+F2 tt work mail

The runner and the plasmoid should write the data in the same place (gtimelog uses a simple text file IIRC).

What you think?

tumaix - July 14, 2010

trully words, a runner for krunner with this could be the way to go.

mutlu - July 14, 2010

If you have a runner and a plasma widget, a dataengine might make sense.

baxeico - July 15, 2010

I’m not so familiar with Plasma, but data engines are used to read data, not to write them, aren’t they?
My idea was to use KRunner to write tasks in the time log (as the text edit in the applet does).

Please correct me if I’m wrong!

mutlu - July 15, 2010

baxeico, you are right, of course.

2. Vamp898 - July 14, 2010

Isn´t there something smiliar in Kontact?

Vitor Boschi - July 15, 2010

there is KTimeTracker, but it’s much more complex to use. Maybe some kind of integration would be nice

3. Chani - July 16, 2010

ooh, ooh, could it use KActivityConsumer to automatically record workspace activity changes? :) …the api is in kdebase/workspace for 4.5, though.

baxeico: dataengines provide data, services can write/send data, and dataengines can provide services for their sources :) so having a dataengine (and service) does make sense.

4. silverhook - May 10, 2012

This together with KRunner integration and Chani’s suggestion is *exactly* what I thought of when I started using GTimeLog and thought how it could be improved.

I do hope this project is still alive. I’m dying to hear about any progress!

tumaix - May 10, 2012

quite stopped, but in two weeks I can boost it to good shape. Will keep you informed. =)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

